Chocolate. Chip. Cookies. Enough said.

Giada de Laurentiis counts chocolate chip cookies and apple pie as two of the most distinguishable “contributions America has made to the culinary world that hold a special place in my heart”.

It’s no secret that everyone loves a good chocolate chip cookie. Whether you like them gooey fresh from the oven, under baked, dunked in milk, or crispy and browned, it’s hard to walk away from a delicious chocolate chip cookie.

Remember on Friends when Monica tried to re-create Phoebe’s grandmother’s secret recipe, only to discover it on the back of the Nestle Tollhouse (I love the way Phoebe says that in her French voice) bag. The proper chocolate chip cookie recipe is as essential to any American kitchen as a mixing bowl and spatula.

Everyone has a secret family recipe. There’s even one on the back of the bag of semi-sweet Ghiradelli chips! I admit, I’ve delighted in scarfing down the raw dough staright from the Nestle Tollhouse “Break and Bake” yellow packaging. But I’ve also taken pride in attempting the homemade, all-American, secret family recipe. In this case, courtesy of my Auntie Amy, my favorite baker from whom I scrounge several recipes (stuffed peppers, chicken pot pie, and others!)

My favorite part-besides devouring the finished product of course- is adding the chips to the finished cookie dough part (maybe because this step requires some taste testing)

My least favorite part? Creating the little balls/discs/shapes of whatever that will eventually form a magical cookie. I hate rubbing them in between the palms of my hands. It feels weird, gooey, unnatural and it almost burns my skin. I know that sounds weird, but I literally feel an incredible urge to wash my hands after rolling only four cookies. I can’t even fill up an entire cookie tray without getting antsy! I tried keeping my hands damp to lessen the stickiness of the dough, but if my hands are too wet, the cookies get too moist and slip off the tray. If I dry them off with a paper towel each time, the little bits of white paper residue then get onto the precious cookie roll! We can’t have that.

Oh, the perils and tribulations of the chocolate chip cookie process.

What’s your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe? Do you have any spcial tricks for keeping the dough off your hands as you roll out the delicious balls of Americana?

Media Credits:

cookie photo courtesy of closetcooking.com

bag of chips courtesy of ghiradelli.com

pic of cookies: MY FINAL PRODUCT, courtesy of my iPhone

