A healthy, crunchy, vegetable-heavy pasta dish is a must-have for any good kitchen repertoire. Up until I discovered Teresa Guidice’s cookbooks, Skinny Italian and Fabulicious, I was missing basically any hearty Italian recipe.

This was my new recipe adventure for the week. I was looking for something filling, with lots of protein and vitamins to help us get through the crazy week. But something light and refreshing to help make those daily workouts seem worthwhile. This was super easy to pull together, which is important on a weeknight when energy is in short supply and chopping the vegetables is incredibly satisfying and bit like therapy.

I used canned diced tomatoes, because, well, seeding them myself is just so messy, and I like to limit the flinging around of sharp knives when the kittens are intrigued by whatever I’m cooking.

I also doubled the amount of carrots, because, well I love carrots.

The divine smell of the simmering carrots, celery, onions, and tomatoes starts overwhelming the kitchen. The easy-to-make pasta is easy as boiling water, and then you just mix them together and create your deliciously light and healthy summer dish.

This is a dish that also taste delicious when served cold, so be sure to keep some leftovers in the fridge for lunch the next day!

 

Media Credits:
Teresa Guidice photo courtesy of njmonthly.com

All food photos courtesy of my iPhone

