Hello JacquelineParis readers! I’m Hannah from Hannah Explains It All. Today…I’m tellin’ you all about why I love summer.

At summer camp on my 16th birthday

It’d be some kind of crime if summer didn’t represent all things beautiful to me. I was born on the summer solstice, after all. Growing up I always looked forward to summer so I could bask in the glory of California sunshine.

From the age of 12 to 17, I went to camp two times every summer. I bonded with my cousins, and then met some girls who became some of my best friends – and still are till this day. I looked forward to those two separate weeks all year long. They were filled with hiking, boating, archery, riffle ranges, service projects, arts and crafts, learning and laughing. The best part, I got to go back to camp as a leader this summer and make memories with girls experiencing it for the first time.

In Yosemite on a hike during camp with my cousin McKenzie. That’s Half Dome in the middle. And my lovely morning hairstyle in the middle of the woods.

 

Of course, growing up in California led to many outdoor adventures during the summer beyond just at camp. I was on the swim team in high school, and I was even a lifeguard, and ever since I can remember I’ve been a fish in the water. There is something peaceful and effortless about floating in the water, and something exhilarating about being in a tube skimming across the water. Ah…summer…

In Lake Tahoe with friends.

 

Almost every summer during high school, my Mom and I took a trip to Disneyland. Sometimes other friends and family were there, but sometimes it was just the two of us. If you’ve never been to Disneyland…it really is the happiest place on earth. It is magical. Somehow, even though we rode the same rides and saw the same shows, we always made completely new memories – met new people and stumbled upon new experiences. I can’t wait to have kids of my own to introduce them to the magic that is Disneyland.

 

One of my best friends, Taylor, and my mom, on the teacups.

 

How can I forget the summer I married my best friend? Definitely the best one yet.

At our reception.

I guess at the end of the day, summer means much more to me than a string of experiences in the sunshine. Summer means love. It means spending time with the people that mean the most to you. As an adult I always look forward to the sunshine and clear skies, but more than that, I look forward to basking in the joy of my relationships with others during the summertime.

Always,

Hannah

