Sorry, friends! It occurred to me today that in all of my previous From My Kitchen posts, I had neglected to include the original, full recipe! Here I was, raving about how fabulously delicious and nutritious something is, without giving you the secret ingredients and measurement instructions! So sorry, will not happen again. Here is my latest new culinary adventure, again courtesy of Teresa Giudice’s great cookbook Fabulicious.

 

I love this dish because it’s listed under her “Easy and Quick” recipes- perfect for a weeknight when you don’t have hours (or tons of energy) to prepare a feast. This has protein, delicious herb flavors, and zucchini. Need I say more? I highly recommend picking up her cookbook, available on Amazon!

(photo of ingredients on my counter: kitty on table in background not required for dish to come out deliciously!)

 

Here are Teresa’s ingredients and instructions:

4 tbsp EVOO

            1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

            1 tbsp lemon juice

            1 tbsp salt

            ½ tsp freshly ground black pepper

            4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

            3 tbsps finely chopped fresh basil

            2 medium zucchini, cut into 1/8 inch-thick rounds

            8 ounces farfalle

            choppd fresh parsley for garnish

 

Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil over high heat. In a small bowl, whisk together 2 tbsps of oil, the balsamic vinegar, and the lemon juice. Season with salt, pepper and set aside. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Sprinkle on both sides with the chopped basil. Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the chicken and cook, turning occasionally, until browned on both sides and the chicken feels firm when pressed in the center (10 to 12 minutes) Transfer to a plate, tent with aluminum foil, and keep warm. Add the remaining tbsp of oil to the skillet and hear over high heat. Add the zucchini and cook, stirring occasionally, until crisp-tender about 3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from heat. Meanwhile, add the pasta to the boiling water and cook according to the package directions until al dente. Drain well. Divide the pasta among deep soup bowls. Top each with a chicken breast half, and then equal amounts of the zucchini. Drizzle each serving with the balsamic vinegar mixture. Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

 

Since I was cooking for just the two of us, I only used one chicken breast (I made this after Fajita night, when we use the other breast- that way the chicken is only in the fridge for a day)

I didn’t realize how much I loved zucchini until I tried this dish!! I have to say, it’s definitely more my speed than the fiance’s- he’s a steak or burgers kind of guy- but with his crazy stressed out hours at the lab, I’m trying to sneak veggies into his diet as often as I can! Hence the “his” and “hers” portions in bowls!

 

Media Credits:

all photos from my iPhone

