Unfortunately, I think I am allergic to the Clarisonic.

I received the Mia 2,, the fanciest Clarisonic on the market, as a Christmas gift from my mother-in-law. She had seen me admiring it in a magazine- she promised she wasn’t suggesting I desperately needed facials or a new beauty regimen!

 

I began using the Mia as directed on January 2, 2012. It seemed like a great experience, and I used it in the morning, followed by Cetaphil moisturizer and at night, followed by Olay’s Touch of Moisture cream. My skin felt tingly and clean afterward, and I definitely noticed a change for the smoother.

 

But after a few days, I noticed a few tiny pinkish bumps all along the left side of my face, almost forming a circle on my cheekbone under my left eye (avoiding skin that I did not clean with the Clarisonic.) I thought it was nothing- maybe my pillowcase or something else that only affected the left side of my face. But as they did not go away for another two days, I stopped using the Clarisonic all together.

 

After three days off of Mia, the little bumps were faded and completely gone. Maybe it’s just a coincidence, but my skin is way too sensitive and breaks out way too easily for me to attempt to use the Mia again. I’ve heard great things about it, so I wish it had worked for me! I am literally allergic to almost every other product I try (had a horrible reaction to a new Trish McEvoy eye color on New Year’s Day!) so I don’t blame the Clarisonic. Maybe I was too rough on that side of my face or I wasn’t properly storing the brush head.

 

I’ve gone back to my pre-Mia routine, which includes the French line of products by Collins, and Garnier’s own mini-Clarisonic brush head “The Brusher”- it doesn’t rotate but it scrubs with its own cleanser.

 

 

Has anyone else tried the Clarisonic Mia 2? What were your results? What are some of your favorite beauty products and gadgets?

 

Media Credits:

first photo courtesy of clarisonicreviews.com

second photo courtesy of sandra.wed.com

third photo courtesy of thestylespy.com

 

