As any beauty junkie will tell you, we are always on the hunt for the latest, greatest at-home routine to spruce up our look.

Looking to Hollywood’s loveliest ladies provides great inspiration, and it’s always a treat when they share their favorite secret recipes to perfect beauty! Recently, the gorgeous Brooke Burke tweeted a link to her YouTube video about an at-home hair mask that she swears by. It sounds kind of wacky, but hey, her hair is spectacular, so I’ll try anything beauty-related once.

The recipe for this hair mask is: half a ripe avocado, 2 tbs olive oil (I’ve also read in other places that olive oil is great for hair conditioning), 2 eggs and a spoonful of mayonnaise. It’s impressive that with the access to all the incredible resources and hair stylists that Brooke has, she still prefers a cheap, kitchen-ready regimen to condition her flowing locks. Here is the link to her original-and adorable-video:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUQ_sWACfXM

 

I tried this hair mask a few days ago, and I have a few words of advice if you’re up to trying it. First, it’s not a pretty look, so definitely give yourself a few hours of nothing to leave the mask on without having to interact with people. I was able to hang out all morning and clean my house, and my kitties promist that they don’t care what my head looks like.

 

Also, secure a towel you don’t care about around your shoulders to protect from drips. I think it was the egg, and it kept plopping off my hairline, like really goopy sweat. I was able to dab with tissues and use the towel to keep my shirt clean. I also used an old hair elastic that I just threw away after this mask.

This was my hair during the mask treatment. I told you it wasn’t pretty, but it felt sort of luxurious, in a gooey kind of way.

 

I can’t say I’ve noticed a drastic difference in my hair in the five days since my hair mask experience, but it can’t hurt, right? Maybe it has to be a weekly ritual or you have to indulge in a few treatments to start seeing Brooke-like results. I will definitely try this again.

Do you have a favorite at-home beauty secret? Will you be trying Brooke’s hair mask?

 

Media Credits:

first photo courtesy of misikko.com

second photo courtesy of hairstyles.tk.com

third photo courtesy of healthsociety.com

fourth photo courtesy of my iPhone

fifth photo courtesy of hownwhat.com

