All things Christian Louboutin have had my heart since my first pair of red soled delights was purchased from the New York store on a rainy December evening in 2008. Since then, my Louboutin love affair has taken me to their boutique on avenue Jean-Jacques and of course on rue de la Grenelle en Paris, and to the Bergdorfs Goodman personal shopping suite to secure my gold wedding shoes. I frame my shopping bags and keep the ecru shoe boxes and red dust bags to display proudly in my closet. I even have a Christian Louboutin Barbie. Yes, I have a weakness.

 

But, lately, thanks to Pinterest aiding my Kate Middleton obsession, another designer has made his way into my dreams. None other than a favorite of the Duchess of Cambridge herself: the prestigious Jimmy Choo.

 

 

 

 

I have become particularly enamored with a shoe I’ve seen on Kate’s feet several times- the Cosmic suede pump. She’s worn several Jimmy Choo creations for her special occasions and royal engagements, including April 29, 2011. She favored the Cosmic pump recently on her first official solo public engagement in early Ferbruary when she stepped out in a grey Jesire dress at a private viewing of the National Portrait Gallery’s Lucian Freud Exhibit.

 

She also had these on her feet when she stunned in a black velvet Alexander McQueen at the Sun Military Awards this past December.

I’ve never loved the almond toe on me, but then again I’ve never experienced a Jimmy Choo creation on my feet. I am in serious need of a closed-toe suede addition to my shoe wardrobe. Where better to turn than my latest Duchess inspiration? Kate wears the pump so well, and the soft suede just screams “Sophistication!” (this is screamed in a royal British accent, of course) Since I aspire to emulate Kate in every way possible, this shoe choice seems like a good move.

 

Of course classic black is a smart choice, but the shoe also comes in a lovely forest green and elegant plum color. Perhaps a pop of a rich, muted color could be just what a Little Black Dress needs. I am seriously considering making this Cosmic pump my new “save up” item and hoarding up my pennies in the name of Jimmy Choo.

 

 

 

I do hope Christian Louboutin will forgive me- he can be my Paris shoe amour, and Jimmy Choo can be my London lover. That sounds like the best tale of two cities a girl could dream of.

Thoughts on the Jimmy Choo Cosmic pump?

Media Credits:

first photo courtesy of netaporter.com

second photo courtesy of blogger.com

third photo courtesy of shoerazzi.com

fourth photo courtesy of luxuryheels.com

fifth photo courtesy of inofashion.com

 

