I’ve become a bit of a beauty junkie lately. I’ve always loved cosmetics and make-up, but ever since the world read that Kate Middleton, before she was officially Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge, would do her own makeup for the world’s most-watched wedding, the beauty product obsession has taken a turn.

 

 

Of course makeup selection is important, but equally important is what you choose to apply this make-up with. You could spend $80 on bronzer, but if you apply if incorrectly, it looks like utter rubbish. The best part about brushes is that they will last you through several seasons, trends and cycles of makeup. I have a few in my collection, but these are my all time go-to favorites:

 

 

My favorite new tool for all blush and bronzer application is the large, round powder brush my Trish McEvoy, known as the “Brush Powder Blush” in her collection. The soft bristles are perfect for an even, flawless, polished look. I have an old Sephora blush brush that I travel with and use occasionally.

My favorite new brushes, however, are for my eyes. The Trish McEvoy system of eyeliner brush application has me addicted. I really don’t know what I did before I discovered the “Brush 50 Angled Eye Lining” creation. I still sometimes head for my Kohl pencil, but nothing beats the simple, smooth lines that I achieve with the thin brush. The slanted line plays like a “connect-the-dots” along your top eyelid, and I find I get more control on the bottom lid by being able to angle my hand away from my eye, rather than trying to navigate a bulky pencil.

I also obviously love all of Trish’s brushes, but the one “dark house” in my makeup brush collection would be by MAC. The “Eye Shader” brush is perfect for adding a darker color on top of my neutral everyday shadow. I like to have separate brushes for nude-toned colors and those with darker pigments. The bristles in this MAC brush seem to cling to the color perfectly until I sweep it across my lid.

Every week, I clean my brushes thoroughly by submerging them in a coffee cup ( I have a special Christmas-themed one I use solely for brush cleaning now) with 2 tablespoons of dish soap and warm water. I let them soak all day and then dry overnight before wiping them clean on a (non-white) towel. I also like to store my brushes in a ceramic, decorative coffee cup, with the bristles pointing out. Germs and infections, be gone!

 

Kate Middleton Obsession Side note: I’ve been a Nivea addict for years, but that obsession has also charged into full swing once it was reported that Kate favors the 5 euro face cream. Check this out! http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/theroyalfamily/8571208/Duchess-of-Cambridge-expected-to-fuel-sales-of-5-face-cream.html

 

What are your favorite makeup brushes?

 

 

 

Media Credits:

first photo courtesy of glamour.com

second photo courtesy of trishmcevoy.com

third photo courtesy of trishmcevoy.com

fourth photo courtesy of home-ec101.com

fifth photo courtesy of blisstree.com

