With Beach Season having arrived in full force here in South Carolina, the time has come to put together my always-ready Beach Bag. In the summer months, I pretty much always have a durable tote full of my beach essentials by the door ready to go. When it’s time to hit the beach, you don’t want to spend minutes (or hours) searching for your sunscreen or favorite sunnies.

Here is a quick run down of what I always have in my Beach Bag:

Sunscreen. Duh. As a pale redhead, the sun is not always my friend. As much as I love to lay out and soak up the sun, I’ve had plenty of bad sunburns to learn my lesson. I like Neutrogena and Aveeno for non-greasy coverage. SPF 30 or higher at all times!

 

Sunscreen. I am very rarely at the beach alone, and have come to be known as a reliable sunscreen provider. But, as I mentioned that Neutrogena and Aveeno are my faves, they are not cheap. And when I’m doling out dollops to sometimes dozens of my hubby’s friends who are running in and out of the water every fifteen minutes, I could easily go through a tube every few days. So, I always have a cheaper spray-on, waterproof back-up to generously hand out to fellow beachgoers. Let’s face it, the boys don’t care if the lotions are greasy or clog pores! I also like to carry multiple levels of SPF protection, and save the higher SPF numbers for fellow sunburn victims.

 

Sunscreen. This time for my face. I am obsessed with the Neutrogena Face Stick- the perfect, non-greasy, non-yucky, non-makeup ruining, non-skin clogging sun protection, and the only thing I’ll use on my face.

 

Hair brush. Sometimes we go right from the beach to grab some drinks, and who wants to be the high maintenance girl who has to stop at home first to brush her hair? My trick is to dip my head backwards into the ocean, slick it back, and then brush it through to avoid tangles.

 

Chap stick. Lip protection is as vital as anything else, and I am always armed with an arsenal of anti-chapped lip weapons. NIVEA, Chapstick, Blistex, you name it, I have at least 4 in my beach bag at any time. A good tip to avoid a melted stick is to hide it in my sunglasses case and shove it to the bottom of my beach bag.

Baseball cap. No matter how much Neutrogena and NIVEA I slather on my face, those delicate eyelids can still get burned if I remove my sunnies for even a few minutes to avoid raccoon eyes! So I worship the sun gods from the safe umbrella of a pink Red Sox hat.

 

T-shirt. Even if it’s tissue paper thin, I use this more than anything. To protect my face from the sun as I lie on my back, to pillow under my head if I’m on my stomach, or to throw on if the sun starts to set, taking the warmth with it. Especially if you’re boating, a comfy, soft, 100% cotton T-shirt is an absolute must!

 

 

I usually pack snacks (BBQ chips are my faves on the beach!) and bottled water or, depending on what beach I’m hitting up, a nice cold beer in a cooler. Another must: a clean, dry, sand-free Ziploc bag to protect my phone and iPad. Sand somehow gets everywhere, and plastic baggies come in every size. They seem to be the only way to keep all those pricey electronics safe.

What is your must-have in your beach bag?

Happy Summer! See you on the beach!

 

Media Credits:

first photo courtesy of capecodbeachchair.com

second photo courtesy of drugsdepot.com

third photo courtesy of latestbeauty.com

fourth photo courtesy of hotcouponworld.com

fifth photo courtesy of newenglandusa.com

sixth photo courtesy of thegreenestdollar.com

seventh photo courtesy of beachpassion.com

